h1

Day #330 – Pyramid Snow Cap Ale

November 27, 2011

I apologize if some of my posts have been rather lackluster recently. I can admit that I am certainly running out of steam, but I am never one to quit on a project so I will see this thing through to the end by God! My life has certainly changed a lot since starting this project, and the free time I used to have to be able to focus on this has switched to other priorities. Oh well, such is life.

Pyramid Snow Cap Ale

20111128-172335.jpg

I’ve reviewed several things from Pyramid I believe and this is their winter seasonal. It is an English Strong Ale at 7%.

This beer went into my lovely Pyramid Hefeweizen glass, which isn’t technically the correct glassware shape for this style, but I like to match breweries. This beer pours a dark maroon color that turns a lighter shade of amber when put to the light.  Foamy beige head as you can see in the picture.

The aroma on this smells an awful lot like one of my homebrews, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing!  It has several notes of heavy malts and dark fruit, with some candied sugar type notes and roasted bread.

The flavor is a little bland for my tastes, with straightforward grains and dark malts and perhaps a lingering hint of bitter dark fruit near the finish.  I was hoping for a touch of spice but I didn’t find any.

20111128-172341.jpg

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

