h1

Day #309 – Rochefort Trappistes 6

November 6, 2011

So I was out riding my bike with a riding group and we stopped at a local beer store (Central Market) and I went straight in to the beer aisle. What do my wandering eyes do appear but a glorious beer called Rochefort! This beer hasn’t been available in Texas in recent memory, and certainly not since I starting garnering an interest in beer. Apparently we now get all 3 of the most widely distributed beers from Rochefort. (which also happens to be the only beers they make.) Brasserie Rochefort is based out of Rochefort, Belgium and is a true Trappist Brewery. This is the number 6, which is a Belgian Strong Ale at 7.5%.

Rochefort Trappistes 6

20111107-204037.jpg

I certainly did not do this beer justice by drinking it out of a plastic cup. The beer gods will smite me.

The appearance is murky; very murky mix of brown and red. This also has a big head response which turns into a foamy brown color.

The aroma is very nice. Lots of Belgian fruit and yeast notes, dark fruit and perhaps a bit of grains. Bready almost as well.

The flavor is also bready and fruity. Belgian yeast notes and plum mix with grains that have a lightly bitter finish. Very good and I’m so glad I found this here!!

20111107-204043.jpg

Cheers!

One comment

  1. […] very recently. I was super excited to find the 3 big ones here a few months ago and reviewed the Rochefort 6 as soon as I could. I decided to sit on the last 2 for a special occasion…and Day 363 seems […]



Leave a Reply

