h1

Day #300 – Rahr & Sons Winter Warmer

October 28, 2011

Day #300!!! Holy crap I never thought I would make it this far but I’m glad I did. It’s been difficult and becoming more and more so as I near the end. Only 65 more days to go…I can do this!

Rahr & Sons Winter Warmer

20111028-214322.jpg

This is absolutely one of my favorite beers from Rahr. It was one I had early on and loved it from the moment I had it. It is an English Strong Ale at 8%. Look for a very nice review in December when I get my hands on the barrel aged version of this guy!

This beer pours a dark brown color that reveals reddish highlights when held to the light. The head is colored an off-white hue to stand out next to the brown.

The aroma is fantastic! It’s a lovely mix of dark malts, roasted notes, chocolate, coffee, winter spices such as ginger and cinnamon with a light touch of alcohol. Such a lovely smell, almost a bit of nuts in this as well.

The flavor relays several of these scents as well. Dark malts and spice are the main flavors, with caramel notes as well as a slight roast. Some chocolate near the finish. This is definitely one of my favs from Rahr.

20111028-214329.jpg

Here’s to the last remaining 65 days left of this project!

One comment

  1. Congrats on 300!!! You are in the home stretch now. At least that is what I thought when I hit 300.

    It seems like, for me at least, the last 65 take the longest.



Leave a Reply

