h1

Day #289 – Saint Arnold Pumpkinator

October 17, 2011

Went for a bike ride tonight and stopped in at the Gingerman. I was glad I did as I discovered that they had a new/old beer from Saint Arnold on tap! I’ll explain the new/old reference in a bit.

Saint Arnold Pumpkinator

This beer was originally a recipe in their Divine Reserve series, number 9. It was put out as an Imperial Pumpkin Ale as it was the winning homebrew recipe in a contest they held. It got a fairly good response so they decided to scale it up for seasonal production. It is now named the Pumpkinator and is sitting in front of me now. I remember trying the DR #9 for the first time 2 years ago and it was absolutely fantastic. My hopes are high that they did not change the recipe. 11% ABV…yikes!

This beer pours black in the middle with a lighter brown touch near the edges. Wheat brown head. It was served in a half pint due to the high alcohol level.

As I’m typing my intro I can already smell a glorious candy corn aroma wafting from the glass. Lots of bazooka Joe sweetness too. Caramel notes on the nose with the aforementioned notes as well. A sense of alcohol is also felt. Winter spice begins to emerge as the beer begins to warm. Interesting that the pumpkin smell shows up later in the sniff. Winter spices bring cinnamon and nutmeg to the table.

Very creamy mouthfeel with an immediate tingle on the tip of the tongue. Abv is felt and warms up the tongue. Warm gingerbread taste and caramel malts. Pumpkin taste is much less perverse than I was anticipating after watching the video of how much they put in it. It doesn’t show up till near the aftertaste and sits fantastically. Tastes like a warm Christmas cookie that was given to me by a pixie in an elf costume.

20111018-181022.jpg

Fan-freaken-tastic.

Leave a Reply

