h1

Day #277 – Samuel Adams Black Lager

October 5, 2011

In my early days as a young beer enthusiast, when I was trying whatever new beer I could get my hands on, I was inevitably trying lots of beers from Samuel Adams. They were plentiful, available and presented me with a wide variety of new styles. Some of their beers I liked right off the bat, many I didn’t but I certainly remember the exact time and place when I tried this beer. It made that much of an impact on me, and I knew I liked it, I just couldn’t say why. Well I don’t think I’ve tried this beer in several years and I am looking forward to figuring out why I liked it so much right off the bat.

Samuel Adams Black Lager

20111005-215159.jpg

Samuel Adams Black Lager is classified as a Schwarzbier, which literally means black lager. It has an ABV of 4.9% and I am not sure if this beer has made it to year round production now. I picked this beer up in the Fall seasonal mix pack, and I don’t see it around in the smaller 6-pack mixers anymore. It used to be mixed in with the Irish Red and the Brown Ale. (Come to think of it I haven’t seen the Brown Ale in ages either.) On to the beer.

This beer pours pretty dark. When held to the light you can see it has deep ruby hues with some touches of brown near the edges. Off-white colored head.

Aroma is dark malts, slight roast, a touch of peat perhaps and some chocolaty tones. Certainly an attractive smell that would appease any new drinker.

The flavor is also quite the delight. Dark chocolate flavors mix with bittersweet malts and a slight roasted quality near the end. This was pretty different for one of my earlier beers but I can see why I liked it so.

20111005-215206.jpg

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

