h1

Day #273 – Ayinger Bräu-Weisse

October 1, 2011

Well my week of Oktoberfest didn’t quite work out. I ran out of easily accessible Oktoberfest beers to review that I hadn’t already reviewed on this blog. I probably could have found 3 more but it would have required some searching and frankly I just didn’t have the time. I did however go to an Oktoberfest celebration and picked up a nice German Hefeweizen to review.

Ayinger Bräu-Weisse

Brauerei Aying is based in Aying, Germany which is just outside of Munich. I learned an interesting fact today that the only beer allowed to be served at the Munich Oktoberfest is beer that is brewed in Munich. So Ayinger, while being an authentic German beer is not served at the Munich celebration. It is a really good beer though and I’m glad I got to have it. After I answered this trivia question correctly, I was gifted this cool glass. 🙂

(Picture to follow shortly)

This beer pours a hazy golden orange color with yellow touches. Foamy white head that has a silky look.

Aroma is lots of banana, fruit, yeast and bread. Very fruity and bready on the nose.

The flavor matches this; yeast and bread, banana notes and some sweet flavors on the finish.

20111002-124921.jpg

Cheers to my new glass!

Leave a Reply

