h1

Day #268 – New Belgium Hoptober Golden Ale

September 26, 2011

Well it’s the first day of my amazing WEEK OF OKTOBERFEST in which I had planned on trying a different Oktoberfest beer every day. Day 1 and I’ve already blown it. Haha, I picked up a beer which I thought was an Oktoberfest, then come to find out it is actually a Golden Ale! Bah…oh well, I have reviewed a crapload of Oktoberfest beers already, so let’s just pretend that this is one also. Or perhaps I’ll push back the start date of the amazing WEEK OF OKTOBERFEST to tomorrow. Yeah…that.

New Belgium Hoptober Golden Ale

20110926-212156.jpg

I’ve reviewed several things from New Belgium thus far so there’s no need to remind you of their stats. This is a Golden Ale at 6% ABV and is their Autumn seasonal.

This beer pours a clear golden color with a foamy white head. The head lasts for just a bit before subsiding.

The aroma is hoppy and dry grains, with some sweet notes on the nose. Certainly hopped.

Flavor is dry, clay malts, some sweetness and an odd finish. Certainly not an Oktoberfest beer.

20110926-212209.jpg

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

