h1

Day #267 – Tommyknocker Imperial Nut Brown Ale

September 25, 2011

Thought I would squeeze this one in here today as I am planning on starting a week of Oktoberfest beers starting tomorrow.

Tommyknocker Imperial Nut Brown Ale

20110926-182658.jpg

Tommyknocker is based out of Idaho Springs, Colorado. This is an American Strong Ale at 9%. I have previously reviewed a beer of theirs which was the Maple Nut Brown; which I remember not caring too much for, but I think I had a bad bottle. This is apparently the amped up version which is OK by me!

This beer pours a dark brownish color with heavy rouge highlights when put to the light. There is a nice foamy tan head which forms on top of the beer. Nice looking. BTW I decided as a preview for Oktoberfest week, I would bust out an Oktoberfest mug for this beer.

Aroma is pretty nice. Sweet maple syrup notes are right off the bat, with some caramel notes and malty brown sugar. There is a slight feeling of the raised ABV but not too overbearing. This smells pretty nice.

Flavor is sweet malts with a dry maple syrup flavor. Woody on the finish; yes very woody with a dry bitter touch. There is a bit of caramel malt flavoring but not a whole lot. Much better than the bottle I had of the original that’s for sure.

20110926-182704.jpg

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

