h1

Day #246 – Lagunitas A Little Sumpin’ Sumpin’ Ale

September 4, 2011

I witnessed something pretty scary today. While driving, I was on the on-ramp for the highway near my house (which is notoriously slow traffic at all hours of the day). Today was just the same, very slow traffic for merging. I noticed the car in front of my slow and pull off to the side, and just in front of it I see a man rolling off the highway and down the grassy slope off the shoulder. I pull off too and notice it was a man on a motorcycle that stopped too quickly and laid down his bike. I end up getting out to help and call 911. The man is seriously shaken up but alert with lots of cuts and scrapes. I stayed till the firetruck arrived, but it was seriously scary stuff to see that! Ugh, I need a beer to calm my nerves.

Lagunitas A Little Sumpin’ Sumpin’ Ale

20110904-085849.jpg

I am surprised to see I have never tried this beer before! It’s been around for awhile and I know I’ve passed it up several times. It is an India Pale Ale at 7.3%, and they have made several offshoot versions of this, by using different yeast and treatments. This one is the standard that started it all!

This beer pours a clear golden honey color with a bit of carbonation that forms a decent white head atop the liquid.

“Ooo” was the first thing I said as I smelled it. It has a wonderfully hoppy aroma that is sappy sweet with nice fruit tones. Smells very nice.

Flavor is hoppy sweet, with dry notes, sap and earthy spice. It finishes with a lovely floral characteristic that wasn’t apparent in the aroma. This is good stuff!

20110904-085856.jpg

Cheers indeed! Here’s to living another day!

Leave a Reply

