h1

Day #245 – Abita Pecan Harvest Ale

September 3, 2011

Back from moving and driving a truck all day and I’m ready for a beer!

Abita Pecan Harvest Ale

20110903-075230.jpg

Several companies come out with a pecan beer or a ” nut brown” type of ale. My buddy actually did some research on pecan brewed beers and said there really aren’t too many breweries that actually USE pecans in their brew. I’m not sure if I believe this or not, but I would believe that brewing with nuts would be incredibly hard, as exposing them to water that is too hot would inevitably draw out the tannins present in the nut and taint the beer. I have never attempted to brew a beer with pecans or almonds or any other nut but I would like to one day. I need to study up on the process a bit more. My guess is they use the nuts in the mashing in stage where the water is only around 152 degrees. Anyways this beer “claims” that it is brewed with real Louisiana pecans. It is an amber ale at 5%.

This beer pours a nice shade of amber orange. It has a tall foamy off-white head that lingers.

Aroma is sweet malts, caramel notes, roasted flavors and I can actually smell a bit of pecan. How about that? I’m pretty sure the last bottle I had of this was bad as I ranted about how much I hated the aroma. This go round it’s actually quite pleasant. Smelling the beer as I was taking my first drink reminded me of autumn.

The flavor is definitely roasted and almost bitterly so. The pecan flavor isn’t quite as present in the taste as it was in the aroma but it is still there. Dry malts and a lingering dry bitter aftertaste round this one out. A nice jaunt into Fall but I don’t know if I’d order another.

20110903-075223.jpg

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

