h1

Day #244 – Deschutes Green Lakes Organic Ale

September 2, 2011

Headed up to Lubbock for a night to help my Grandma move down to Plano, but I had enough time to grab a beer before the road.

Deschutes Green Lakes Organic Ale

20110902-101351.jpg

I’ve reviewed several things from Deschutes now. They rarely seem to disappoint. I grabbed this beer because it was organic and that interested me. The malts they used in this batch are all 100% organic according to the label. Not sure of the difference there and regular malts. I suppose it has to do with fertilizers and such. Anyways seeing the organic label reminded me that I have still yet to review a gluten-free beer. I will have to get on that soon. Now THAT will be an interesting post for sure…

This beer is an amber ale at 5%.

Pours a clear amber orange color with lots of fizz and carbonation. This creates and sustains a nice healthy head for quite awhile.

The aroma is hoppy sweet right off the bat. Plenty of spicy, piney hops are present with a healthy malty sweet backbone.

Flavor is hoppy bitter, dry and bready malts. Very dry finish. The bready malts provide for a very different malt flavor. Very earthy to say the least.

20110902-101211.jpg

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

