h1

Day #243 – Wild Blue

September 1, 2011

Today, I’m sad to say I picked up a beer from Anheuser-Busch. While I really hate to support Big Beer, I did this time for 2 reasons. Most of all I really didn’t know that this beer was brewed by AB haha, but I wanted to feature this one because it is just so darn odd. I try to give my money to the local craft guys but there is a time for every beer, including AB.

Wild Blue

20110901-093208.jpg

Wild Blue is an odd one. It is a Fruit Beer and is a fat one at that. Brewed with blueberries, you will see it’s extent all the way through from start to finish. Let’s get into it. 8%.

This beer pours a dark rosy color that is fairly clear and yes…that’s right….a PINK head. So odd, to see a beer with a pink head. Appearance other than the head is very pretty though.

Aroma is sweet and fruity, with big notes of blueberry and grape juice. The sweetness overtakes any other aromas that may be present.

Flavor is sharply sweet, sugary and fruity. Blueberries for sure, with cotton candy, sugar and grapes. The sweetness continues through the finish. This is pretty sweet and fairly intensely so. Interesting to try but I’d never get a 6 pack.

20110901-093215.jpg

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

