h1

Day #222 – Squatters Hop Rising Double India Pale Ale

August 11, 2011

I was at a DCI watching party all night and just barely squeezed in a beer before midnight. For some strange reason, I forgot to type it up! Man I’ve really gotten out of my stride over summer. Hope I can get back in soon.

Squatters Hop Rising Double India Pale Ale

20110812-121551.jpg

Squatters Pub (otherwise known as Salt Lake Brewing Company) is based out of Salt Lake City, UT. Only very recently have we started receiving their beers in north Texas. Not only that, but I’ve noticed a few other Utah companies sporting their wares around town. Wasatch is another that I’ve seen on tap, and the rumor is Uinta is looking to come here too. That would be awesome if that is the case! Today I’m reviewing a beer given to me by a friend and it looks to be a good one! Hop Rising is an Imperial IPA and has an ABV of 9%! I’m liking the looks of this already!

Pours a fairly clear rich amber color that edges on orange. Nice foamy off-white head billows up and lingers.

Aroma is pretty hoppy. Lots of wet hops, resin and sappy notes, grapefruit and lots of woody notes. Pretty hefty smell for sure.

Flavor is sharp hops, mixed with a sweet fruity sense. Bitter woody notes fill the finish. Nice hoppy flavor for sure. This is pretty solid. Good tingle down the throat on the finish.

20110812-121602.jpg

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

