h1

Day #220 – Saint Arnold Summer Pils

August 9, 2011

Well I’m at my usual Tuesday stop. Unfortunately Ginger Man is featuring a beer that I reviewed way back on Day #10! Holy crap that seems like so long ago. Funny thing is, I haven’t gained a pound, even after drinking daily for 220 days. How about that!! Anyways here’s a pic of the beer they featured:

20110809-065534.jpg

I may provide a link to my earlier rating later; we’ll see. Anyways, since I was left with this dilemma, I basically got to choose any beer that I wanted to feature for today! I doubt I will have the appropriate glassware for this beer, (which doesn’t happen often) but oh well. I missed out on reviewing this particular beer when it was featured at Ginger Man twice now and I still don’t have the glass for it! Since it is a Texas beer, and a seasonal at that, it’s pretty much now or never. Especially since I already noticed the first Oktoberfest beer of the year on tap today!!!!

Saint Arnold Summer Pils

20110809-070055.jpg

Saint Arnold Summer Pils is their summer seasonal beer. It is a pilsener listed at 4.9% ABV.

This beer pours a very clear light golden color, which pretty much touches on yellow. It has a big foamy white head that remains throughout the drink.

The aroma is pretty light and subtle to be honest. Maybe some gentle grains and bready notes but that’s about it. A light sense of hops emerge as it warms though.

Flavor is bready and grainy, with some sweet touches of grapefruit edging though. The finish is light as well with only a small bit of bitterness. A good refreshing summer beverage.

20110809-070625.jpg

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

