h1

Day #195 – Maui Brewing Double Overhead I.P.A.

July 15, 2011

I found a treat while out at the Meddlesome Moth in Dallas, and it comes in the form of an Imperial India Pale Ale from Maui! On tap and served in a delectable snifter.

Maui Brewing Double Overhead I.P.A.

Maui Brewing of course is located in Hawaii. I have reviewed several beers from them thus far and I am glad to see this one in front of me today. This is classified as an Imperial IPA with an ABV of 8.5%. Can’t enjoy too many of these consecutively now. I think I’ll just have 1.

Pours a very rich rouge color with slight touches of orange. Foamy off white head. Very large head response, and it looks nice.

Aroma is very hoppy. Lots of pine notes, sap and resin. Not overpowering though and that’s always a plus for me and big hoppy beers. Sometimes I like to be bowled over with hops but not all the time. This is pleasant and I like it.

Flavor is super sweet hops, lots of tree sap and resin, earthy grassy notes that leave a big tingle on the palate. Very hoppy, very sweet. Altogether I rather like it.

20110712-023742.jpg

Cheers!

Leave a comment