h1

Day #192 – Rahr & Sons Gravel Road

July 12, 2011

Alright well I feel that I have some making up to do after the past 2 days of crappy submissions. Like I mentioned yesterday, sometimes life happens and you just have to make due with what you are given, and I was given a Victoria. 🙂 Who would I be to turn down a free beer?!?! Oh well, today is a day I have been looking forward to for some time now. Rahr & Sons released a new beer this weekend, but I held off on trying it until today because today is….you guessed it….glass night at the Ginger Man! The glass for this beer is freaken BADASS and I am super excited to get it!

Rahr & Sons Gravel Road

Gravel Road is described as a German-Style Sticke Altbier (for the purposes of this blog we’ll call it an Altbier). Sometimes you will see this word “Sticke” tacked on before some beers. Sticke is what I believe to be a German word that translates to “secret”. So in other words, you will not be finding the recipe to this beer on google anytime soon! 🙂 It has an ABV of 7.25%. Here comes the glass….

Poured into my badass Rahr mason jar. Pours a dark reddish to orange color with a light ring of white head.

Aroma is fairly hoppy with a caramel sweetness. Very smooth smelling. Sweet candied sugar also.

Flavor is a good mix of sweet malts and floral hops. Light bitter finish with a lingering sweetness. This is well done.

20110712-064135.jpg

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

