h1

Day #186 – Left Hand TNT Weizen Doppelbock

July 6, 2011

I had to drop back by the Ginger Man today as I saw something there that I had never had and it looked cool.

Left Hand TNT Weizen Doppelbock

20110706-072444.jpg

Left Hand Brewing is based in Longmont, Colorado. I know I’ve reviewed a beer from this company before because it was during the ice storm of 2011 back in February. I have the link on my Review Index page. Check it out if you haven’t already. I’ve kept up with my links and it’s turning into a pretty cool list. Today’s beer is a Weizenbock and a pretty hefty one at that with a 7.9% ABV. If you think that is high, just wait till you see Friday’s post!!

The beer was served in a Chimay Trappist glass. A little strange for the style but I’ll go with it. This beer pours a very dark brown to almost black color. Not much light gets through this puppy. There is also a nice beige head on top of it.

The aroma reminds me of one of my home-brews. It is fairly roasted with a dark fruit/homebrew yeast aroma. Not sure how to describe this but I can picture the homebrew it smells like as I drank one just yesterday.

The flavor is….interesting. This beer is obviously smoked, which I often times do not care much for. The smoke in this comes off beefy and very aggressive. They used a lot of peated malt in this and it shows. After awhile the smoke eases off just a bit and it becomes slightly more approachable. Dark malts and roast prevail throughout.

I suppose I understand the significance of the name now as this pops of smoke and gunpowder.

20110705-051349.jpg

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

