h1

Day #185 – Dogfish Head 90 Minute Imperial IPA

July 5, 2011

I’ve put off today’s beer for long enough. I was really hoping that I could find this one in a bottle somewhere so I could enjoy it in one of my many Dogfish Head specialty glasses but to no avail. I have seen bottles of this before, but as of January 2nd (when I officially started this project) I have yet to see them return. It seems North Texas gets an odd assortment of DFH now, on tap and in bottles. Maybe I just haven’t been looking in the right place, I don’t know. But anyways, today I’m buckling down and will be enjoying one of Dogfish Head’s top sellers.

Dogfish Head 90 Minute Imperial IPA

20110706-072301.jpg

This is an Imperial IPA from Dogfish Head, and in my opinion it’s one of their best. I didn’t always feel that way however. When I first started trying new beer, I came across this brewery with a funny name, Dogfish Head. Well at this point I had only been drinking beer for a matter of months and had no idea what an India Pale Ale was, much less that this was the Imperial version of that. I had no idea what 90 minute stood for and frankly didn’t care. I split a 6 pack with some buddies of mine and we all opened the bottles at the same time. I can’t describe to you the utter horror and frustration that escaped the apartment at that moment. No one knew that a beer could (and should) taste like this. We were taken back and I was angry. Yes I was angry! From all the commercials I had seen, I was under the impression that beer should be light, crisp and refreshing; and come with 2 busty babes dripping with water. Well it took many years to re-educate myself on beer but I gathered the nerve to try this beer again and I found that it was not what I originally thought it was. I actually found myself craving the taste of hops and the rest is history. I actually haven’t tried this beer in awhile so I’m quite excited to try it again! 9% alcohol…yikes! (I’ve got a killer beer planned for Friday.)

This beer pours a slightly hazy orange color that appears very bright when put to the light. It holds a foamy off-white head that sticks around for quite a bit.

The aroma is wow! Intense! I smell lots of sweet hops, fruity and floral in nature. Very fat smelling.

The flavor is certainly hops. There is a big tingle over the palate from the raised alcohol levels. Sweet, almost syrupy sugar flavors touch on spicy hops and pine. I remember this being super piney and sappy before so I wonder if they have changed the recipe? Regardless it still remains a very good beer!

20110705-033455.jpg

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

