h1

Day #184 – Meantime London Porter

July 4, 2011

Today is a pretty big day for a variety of reasons. My friend and I just wrapped up 2 days of brewing single hopped IPAs. This was more of an experiment for fun than anything else, as we really wanted to see what characteristics different hop strains held. We used some strange and unorthodox hops for our IPAs and they probably will not end up on any store shelf anytime soon haha! We used UK Northern Brewer, Liberty, Galena, Mt. Hood, Bravo and UK Fuggles. Several of these hops are best suited as finishing hops and would not typically be used as a bittering hop (which spend the most amount of time in the boil.) Like I mentioned this was more of an experiment than anything else, but some notable breweries have started playing around with single hopped beers. Samuel Adams is the most notable brewer that has a single hop series available in our area. Look for a mix 6 pack of their Latitude 48 IPA with 6 single hopped beers.

I also realized recently that I am around the halfway point in this blogging project! I can’t believe this is already halfway done. It feels like I have just started, but when I look at some of the earliest posts, they seem like it was forever ago. Funny how that works. Anyways, as of publishing of this post I have had a total of 9,870 views on my blog! I want to say a huge thank you to anyone who has ready my posts or been following my blog. Thanks guys, and I can’t wait to press on!

Today is also the day our country celebrates our independence from Britain. This is why I have chosen to review a beer from London, England today Meantime London Porter. For a long time I have avoided purchasing this beer because I could only find it in large bottles and these were always very pricey. Well I stumbled across a cute small bottle of this so I snatched it up!

Meantime London Porter

20110704-103629.jpg

Meantime is a brewery based in London, England. They make several beers but I believe we only receive 2 of them in our area, this one and the IPA. I may be mistaken but these are the only 2 I can think of at the moment. This beer is classified as a porter and has an ABV of 6.5%.

This beer pours a clear dark red to brown color. It has a light tan head that fizzes up really quick and fades after a bit.

The aroma is dark roast and malts, with a sharp cologne type nose. Perhaps it might be a briny type aroma but it certainly holds a large part of the nose. Certainly very roasted.

Flavor is immediately roasted grains with a bitter bread characteristic. The roasted flavor is dry and bitter, with a slight dark chocolate flavor filling out the back of the palate. A tad watery.

20110704-103620.jpg

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

