h1

Day #178 – Belhaven Scottish Stout (draught)

June 28, 2011

(Today’s review is going to come with a warning, an * if you will. After reviewing my notes from trying this several times previously, I am convinced that something was very wrong with the keg I tried it from this time. 😦 Unfortunately that does happen from time to time and it’s just the nature of the beast.)

Belhaven Scottish Stout

Belhaven Scottish Stout is brewed by Belhaven out of Dunbar, Scotland. The brewery was bought out by Greene King at some point which means they are now a part of a much larger conglomerate. (Thanks to Rich for the correction here.) This beer is classified as a stout and comes in at 4.5% ABV. I should also make note that the keg version and bottle version of this beer are 2 separate beers. The keg version has been keg pasteurized which changes the flavor from the bottled version ever so slightly.

Pours a very dark black with a foamy, creamy tan head. It was on draught so it started as a stormy brown color that eventually faded to black. Why is Metallica playing in my head right now?

The aroma is fairly subdued on this one. Some dark malts and roast with an obvious nitro scent.

The flavor is more roasted than the smell and has a beefy flavor? Man I’ve had this a couple times before now and I don’t recall it being smoked. Hmm, I’ll go with it. Dark malts with a creamy mouthfeel. Finishes smooth. I’ve got an inkling that there is something a bit off with this keg….(looking at my notes for the previous times I’ve tried this I mentioned lots of chocolate and cocoa notes but never said anything about beef.) Oh well, still a good beer albeit different from what I’m used to.

20110623-061436.jpg

Cheers anyway!

2 comments

  1. I’m not exactly what you mean by the link between Greene King and Guinness. As I’m sure you know Guinness is part of the Diageo group but this has nothing to do with Greene King at all. Well certainly not in the UK anyway………….

    You’re right that Greene King did taken over Belhaven in 2005.

    Cheers


    • Oops you’re right! I was thinking Diageo in my mind and confused myself. That’s what I get for blogging WHILE enjoying the beer!



Leave a Reply

