h1

Day #141 – Sierra Nevada Bigfoot

May 21, 2011

Well I didn’t get raptured so I suppose it’s time for a beer. I’ve got a BBQ tonight and a Mavs watching party for the big game tonight. I’ll be bringing this lovely beer along with me to drink and enjoy at my friend’s place.

Sierra Nevada Bigfoot

Bigfoot is one of Sierra Nevada’s most sought after release. It is a big barleywine that comes in at 9.6%. It is a favorite candidate among beer geeks for aging as it continues to develop and evolve over several years. I will be trying it fresh as this is the 2011 batch. I’ve heard good things about it fresh as well.

My buddy didn’t have a snifter so a Rahr glass will have to do. I let this bad boy warm up for quite awhile before approaching it.

The appearance is a lovely reddish orange hue with a foamy off white head. The head stays for just a bit before receding.

Aroma has LOTS of fresh hops. It smells fairly sweet with caramel malts and sappy notes. Hops still play a major role in this. No alcohol can be detected but it smells fairly heavy.

Flavor is again with a large hop presence. Sappy hops but also has a tingly mouthfeel where the alcohol can certainly be felt. This has a nice sweet caramel malt backbone.

Excellent. Till next rapture folks!

One comment

  1. I love the Bigfoot! My husband has a flight of them from back in 2000 – and the older, the better (the hops mellow and it turns into this amazingly malty dream). I do enjoy it fresh as well though! Glad you were saved from the rapture, as I enjoy your blog! 😉



Leave a Reply

