h1

Day #137 – Alvinne Cuvée Freddy Batch 2

May 18, 2011

Headed to a beer tasting tonight and I honestly have NO IDEA what I am going to review. Typically when I have a beer tasting to go to I will plan ahead and have an additional review saved from the night previous, as it’s a pretty lousy idea to drink BEFORE you go to a big tasting. This will be interesting, but I will try to choose something that is available locally. Usually someone will bring something locally but the majority of the time we try beers from all over the world. If worse comes to worse then I’ll just pick something incredible that was taken out tonight. Alright here we go!

Alvinne Cuvée Freddy Batch 2

OK now here’s the deal. The tasting was a small group tonight; basically me and 2 other dudes. You need to understand that most of the people in this tasting group get things to bring in the mail or through trades. There are only a few things available locally that we haven’t yet tried and only a few guys regularly bring locals….and none of them were there tonight. So I’m just going to make the best of the situation and review something the I will probably NEVER see again but was by far the best beer of the night. AND it’s a style that I don’t have much of. So I do apologize that I am breaking from protocol and reviewing something not available here and probably never will be.

Alvinne is a fairly large brewery from Belgium but they do not distribute to the United States from what I understand. This beer in particular is classified as a Sour Ale and comes in at 9%ABV. The word Cuvee literally means “blend” so we can expect this to be a blend of 2 different things. The description lists it as a sour ale that was aged for 8 months inside of an oak barrel with their signature Morpheus yeast being used.

20110519-121213.jpg

Dark brown pour that turns red in the light. Has a bubbly edge.

Aroma is cherry sweet with a sharp oaky sourness. Not offensive but soothing.

Flavor is tart on the edges on the tongue with a cherry sweetness that finishes into a gentle oak. So I’ll go on record as saying I don’t much care for sours but I love this. Well done.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

