h1

Day #129 – Maui Brewing CoCoNut PorTeR

May 10, 2011

Aloha! At least that is what today’s beer is brewed with. Yes this is one of the many mysteries I have found with this beer and the can it comes it. That’s right, another canned beer.

Maui CoCoNut PorTeR

20110510-072053.jpg

Maui Brewing Company has only very recently come into North Texas so I’ve had plenty of new beer to check out. I hit up their Bikini Blonde the other week and am going with the CoCoNut PorTeR today. No I’m not experiencing a pinky seizure; the name is really spelled that way. This is one of the mysteries I was referring to. Why the hell would they capitalize only those letters? Are they trying to send a coded message? CCNPT? Perhaps some sort of communist relic from the past? I’m not sure. Some investigation into this will be required. Also written on the can are the words “like hot chicks on the beach.” How exactly is this beer like hot chicks on the beach? It does say it is brewed with hand toasted coconuts. I hope I can taste the hands. As I mentioned before the can says it was “Brewed with Aloha”. I had previously thought Aloha meant either hello or goodbye depending upon the context but this wouldn’t make sense at all. After some further research however i have learned that Aloha’s original meaning was for affection, love, compassion and mercy. It only became a greeting after the English influence. Cool, I learned something. However they have also managed to cram in an explanation as to why they can the beer over bottles which is cool to see. 5.7% ABV.

This beer pours a very dark brown color with a tall foamy tan head. The head remained for quite awhile also before finally retiring.

The aroma is a mix of several different things. I am noticing light cocoa, toasted malts and a forced sweetness. Almost a sugar sweetener. If I really think about it I can pick up the coconut, but if I hadn’t of known it was in there I might not have. It is subtle on the nose in other words.

Flavor is definitely roasted malts, chocolate and coconut. You can taste the coconut way more than smell it. The false sweetness is still there and is almost sharp on the tongue.

20110510-072104.jpg

I’ve had this beer a couple times now and I haven’t much cared for it either times. Not sure what it is but it has something to do with the artificial sweet flavor I just can’t get over. Maybe that’s the coconut and I’m experiencing taste confusion but I don’t know. It’s certainly worth a taste but I would not buy a full 6-pack of this guy.

Aloha!

Leave a Reply

