h1

Day #121 – Youngs Double Chocolate Stout

May 2, 2011

Youngs Double Chocolate Stout

20110502-103936.jpg

Ah. One of my earliest beers that I remember really making me think about the potential of what beer TRULY could be. This is my best friend’s favorite beer too, but I must confess that it has been FAR too long since I have tried it for myself. This beer is available in bottles/nitro cans as well as on tap. I would recommend any of the versions with nitro even though I am trying it out of a bottle today. The nitrogen treatment just adds one more layer of complexity here.

This beer is brewed by Wells & Youngs out of Bedford, England. This is actually a combination of 2 different breweries that combined in 2006. The Double Chocolate Stout gets it’s name from the double layer of “chocolate”, from dark chocolate essence and chocolate malt. Some beers are actually brewed with chocolate but more often they utilize ingredients that naturally produce a chocolate-like flavor. This beer is classified as a stout at 5.2%.

The beer pours a very dark brown color that almost edges on black. I say almost because held to the light the sides of the beer shine a brilliant brown. There is also a lofty brown head that resembles a loaf of wheat bread sitting atop the beer.

The aroma is lots of things; bready, dark malts, dusty, bitter chocolate, dry notes and a slight sweetness that can almost be construed as sharp. Enjoyable aroma.

20110502-103947.jpg

The flavor is first and foremost roasted. I pick up a mix of roasted malts and toasted nuts. This creates a dry feeling in the mouth that paves the way for a lingering roasted chocolate bread. The label says “never overly sweet” and I agree with that. This is not your typical milk chocolate. This is a dark, biting chocolate smoking a cigar…..in the best kind of way. I recommend this on tap most certainly.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

