h1

Day #108 – Ommegang Rare Vos

April 19, 2011

New style and a new brewery planned for today, at my regular weekly Ginger Man stop.

Ommegang Rare Vos

Brewery Ommegang is based out of Cooperstown, New York. They are modeled after the traditional Belgian style brewery and specialize in producing Belgian-style ales. They opened up in 1997 and since then have established themselves as a Belgian presence in America.

20110419-064227.jpg

Rare Vos is Flemish for “Sly Fox”. It is classified as a Belgian Ale and is the first of that style for my blog. This style is usually representative of the session ales in the Belgian style, and can range in color and flavors. They will always be below 7% alcohol however with this particular beer at 6.5%.

Got here just a few minutes early and grabbed a seat at the bar. It’s a bit more crowded than usual; I’m betting people got their tax returns and decided to celebrate. Anyways, the only downfall of reviewing at a bar is the cigarette smoke. Wouldn’t you know it as soon as I sit down, someone sits next to me and immediately drags the ash tray to him. I’m gonna smell this beer as fast as I can before my senses are tainted!!

Aroma is kinda weak, but I can detect some notes of Belgian yeast, tart fruit and quite a lot of grain. I’m surprised it does not have more to the nose.

Ok back to appearance. It pours almost clear, a light to medium orange color with a foamy white head.

Flavor is Belgian fruit and yeast right off the bat. Bubble gum and banana, with some yeasty notes. Grainy flavors come in as well with a slightly bitter finish. The sweet fruit flavors maintain throughout the flavor and make this quite nice.

20110419-060538.jpg

I’m much more impressed than the first time I had this. I think this batch must be fresher than the first time I had it, because the fruit and bubble gum flavors really turn out nicely.

Cheers!

You know, I’ve realized that it’s been a long time since I’ve held a contest so it’s time for another. Up for grabs is this sweet Ommegang Rare Vos glass featured in the picture above. Answer this correctly and I will send it to you FOR FREE! Here’s the question: In yesterday’s post, I mentioned a big beer that I have plans for reviewing this week. (check the hint) Name the brewery this beer is from and post in the comments below. 🙂

5 comments

  1. Stone Brewing Co


    • Damn John! I’m glad you at least waited 6 minutes before answering! Haha. Tell you what, Facebook me your address and I’ll send you the glass plus homebrew.


      • What type of homebrew are you sending him?


      • Let’s see, available I have a golden ale, imperial stout, bock and a pale ale!


      • Lmao… its only cause I’ve had a whole bottle before. Hell if ya want lets sit down and do this one together.

        Ill message ya on fb and we can plan out sir.



Leave a Reply

