h1

Day #97 – Tommyknocker Maple Nut Brown Ale

April 8, 2011

Tommyknocker Maple Nut Brown Ale

Tommyknocker Brewery is located in Idaho Springs, Colorado. They distribute several things to our area; the Maple Nut Brown being one of them.

It’s classified as a Brown Ale at 4.5% and it’s brewed with real maple syrup. This could fair well in a beer, if done right. Let’s hope for the best!

20110407-091150.jpg

This beer pours a very clear pretty reddish color with touches of brown. It is very attractive to look at. Also has a nice white head that disappears pretty quickly.

Kind of a faint aroma; really not much there at all. Mix of malts and a bit of maple sweetness. Light syrup. Slight hints of steamed veggies too, which is not a good sign.

Flavor is lots of caramel malts and light brown sugar. Finish is a bit of dry malts and slight bitterness. The flavor is…..man I don’t know. I’m just really not feeling it. The maple sweetness has some sort of an odd flavor along with it that reminds me of the steamed veggies again. I’m going to venture a guess that this is a bad bottle, as vegetables can often be a sign of flaws.

20110407-092325.jpg

As it warms up however, the vegetable flavor dissipates and it now reminds me of a horehound drop.  Look it up if you don’t know.

Cheers.

2 comments

  1. Sounds like the Fireside Nut Brown made by Leinenkugel’s. I love Leinie’s but that’s one of the beers I did not like.


  2. […] This is an American Strong Ale at 9%. I have previously reviewed a beer of theirs which was the Maple Nut Brown; which I remember not caring too much for, but I think I had a bad bottle. This is apparently the […]



Leave a Reply

