h1

Day #92 – Southern Star Buried Hatchet Stout

April 3, 2011

3 days straight of Texas beer and today I have a review from a brewery I have not yet featured on my blog. It’s been awhile since I’ve had this beer too; I have high expectations.

Southern Star Buried Hatchet Stout

20110403-035500.jpg

Southern Star Brewing is a relatively new brewery out of Conroe, TX just north of Houston. They began brewing back in 2007, and have about 3 beers they distribute statewide. They are also another example of a brewery who only does cans and not bottles. Today I am reviewing their Buried Hatchet Stout. It is classified as a stout and holds 8.25% ABV.

Glad I get to break out my SS glass for this one.  This beer pours a dark brown color that shines a deep red when held to the light. It has a fizzy light brown head that dissipates fairly quickly for a stout.

The aroma is all kinds of lovelyness. Lots of rich chocolate, roasted malts and dark coffee ground. Very roasted nose. Also has kind of a toasted wood character as well. Nice.  Reminds me of smores by a campfire.

20110403-035512.jpg

Flavor is roasted as well. Roasted malts and toasted chocolate bars. Bit of a dry coffee flavor that edges into the finish. Dry finish that maintains a roasted chocolate flavor. Man this is good. A great example of what Texas breweries are capable of.

Cheers!

One comment

  1. Picked up a pack of these last night. Definitely a fan! Thanks for the suggestion. I might have never tried it otherwise.



Leave a Reply

