h1

Day #88 – Chimay Bleue (Blue)

March 30, 2011

Today has been super long but I am finally getting around to reviewing this gem.  The hardest part of this is waiting.  I got home late and just want more than anything to tear into this but I took it out of the fridge and set it on the counter to warm first….I want to experience this in all it’s majesty.  The first and only time I have had this, I was fairly new to beer in general, and I didn’t understand that this was bottle conditioned so I dumped the entire thing in the glass, and then couldn’t figure out why there were giant chunks in my glass.  Even still I loved it back then.  I can only imagine what I will think of this one tonight!

 

Chimay Bleue (Blue)

Chimay Bleue is probably Chimay’s most celebrated beer.  It is classified as a Belgian Strong Ale and kicks butt at 9% ABV.  These monks aren’t playing around.  I’ve been going back and forth to the kitchen trying to warm this beer up with my hands.  For the most part, Belgian beers can be enjoyed closer to room temperature than most American made beers.  That is not a general statement though….there are absolutely exceptions.  OK I can’t wait any longer.  Gotta pour it.

This beer pours elegantly.  No other word can describe it.  It has a hazy maroon color that touches on brown and rouge tints.  Lots of bubbles add to the already solid beige head.  Very nice.

I’ve continued to warm this beer as much as I can through natural means as I know this will release all the aromas that the brewers have intended.  The aroma certainly does not disappoint.  Lovely dark fruit and sweet Belgian candied sugars fill the nostrils.  Easy grains and more Belgian fruit/yeast flavors follow behind.  Lovely.

Flavor is lovely grape juice, plum, raisin, sweet malt, sugar and Taylor Swift.  I imagine that if Taylor were a beer she would be sweet and innocent.  I mean that in the most non-creepy way possible.  Light bitter finish reminds you that this beer has a bit of a kick to it; and the tingle on the tongue confirms.  This is one of my favorite beers to date.  The great thing is, even though I’m enjoying a 330 ml bottle of this, it also comes in sizes large and gigantic.  Check out this photo of my buddy holding the latter size.

I highly recommend that you try this beer.  Awesome!

Cheers!

2 comments

  1. Travis, I introduced myself to you at the Denton show and you asked if I had tried any beers because of your blog. Now I have and I agree with your assessment of this beer 100%! This is one of the best beers I have ever tasted and I’m grateful to you for your recommendation. I will continue to follow your blog!!


    • Alright Scott! Glad you tried this beer in particular because it definitely ROCKS!



Leave a Reply

