h1

Day #72 – Lagunitas Olde Gnarly Wine

March 14, 2011

We’ve got a big beer on the menu for today, and boy is it a big one!  I have been looking for this beer for several years and I finally ran across it the other day.  It’s a barley wine style in a 22 ounce bottle at 10.6% ABV.  Wooowee.  I’m going to try to find someone to split this with because if I am to finish this myself, it would be bad news.  Remember barley wines are very heavy, carmelly and malty with lots of residual sugars and are typically high in alcohol.  I’m assuming this will be no different….but I’m looking forward to it nonetheless.

Lagunitas Olde Gnarly Wine

Lagunitas is based out of Petaluma, California.  I reviewed another barley wine from them several weeks back which was their Brown Shugga.  That beer originally started out as a Gnarly Wine but something went wrong with the recipe and it turned into a beer all it’s own.  Today’s beer is that base recipe.

Here we go…

I set the bottle out on the counter for about 30 minutes to let it warm up a bit.  I want to try this beer at around 55 degrees, that way all the lovely aromas and complex flavors won’t be masked by cold liquid.

It’s difficult to see from the picture, but this beer pours a very brilliant clear ruby red color with a nice smooth foamy head.  Very pretty indeed.

The aroma is heavy on aged wood characteristics, with dark fruit and raisins mixed with some sugary notes.  Lots of caramel and natural roots.

Wow big tingle over the tongue!  Great flavor.  Tastes like cherry lifesavers.  Lots of woody sweet notes with some caramel notes.  Finishes like a warm vanilla donut. Sweet and very tasty!

Screw it I may just finish this bottle myself if no one else comes to visit me….You hear that folks?  You’ve only got 1 hour from the time I write this to come over and try some of this beer.  I can’t tell you the real time because daylight savings time has got me all kinds of backward.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

