h1

Day #71 – Saigon Export

March 13, 2011

Well yesterday was a hell of a lot of fun.  Got to take a fun trip with some good friends to rally for a cause I believe in, and got to drink some awesome local beer at the same time!  I finally updated yesterday’s review with some pictures.  (That’s impossible to do on the road when I’m posting on my phone, so sometimes that happens.)  One of the guys I was with yesterday is going to brew a beer today.  He decided to brew a pale lager, and while it’s not my favorite style, I picked one up on the way to his house to help him brew.  I figure it makes sense to drink a pale lager while brewing one right?  I have never had this beer but I can already tell you that I do not have high hopes…..

Saigon Export

This is a beer directly imported from Saigon (Ho Chi Minh City), Vietnam and as we mentioned earlier it is a pale lager.  The bottle itself feels much heavier than normal glass.  It feels thicker and weightier than the ones I am used to dealing with.  Just thought that was interesting.  It’s brewed by a company called Sabeco which I have never heard of before today, and it appears that this is one of the only things they make.  Certainly nothing else that is distributed to America.

Some other interesting things of note on the bottle: the cap is marked with the label “EXP 170311” which I can only assume means that it expires on March 17, 2011.  Today is March 13th, which means this is not a fresh bottle.   Great.  Also it lists the ingredients which almost never happens on beer bottles.  “Ingredients: Water, Malt, Rice, Hop”  I love that they said Hop without an ‘s’.  Haha I wonder which one Hop they put in?  Ok I shouldn’t bash it till I try it…

This beer pours a very clear light yellow color with a bubbly white head. Doesn’t look very appealing.

Aroma is grass clippings, rice, sour grains and metal. Slightly skunked but only a bit. Doesn’t smell very appealing.

Flavor is metal, soured malts, grass and egg whites. Finishes with a bitter grain flavor. Can you guess it? Doesn’t taste very appealing. Has an odd flavor like I was snacking on a end of a cigarette butt.

Gooooooooooooooooood morning Vietnam! And goodbye.

Leave a Reply

