h1

Day #70 – Thirsty Planet Bucket Head IPA

March 13, 2011

Day 70 and I am on a mini road trip. The Texas legislature is choosing to cut a huge chunk of the budget from education, and this will eventually lead to thousands of teachers losing their jobs. I was a part of the protest at the state Capitol today and I’m glad I was there! Our leaders need to know what’s important to the people. Anyways, you know what’s important to me….which is beer. 😉

Thirsty Planet Bucket Head IPA

Thirsty Planet is a new brewery. Apparently so new that when I walked into this bar and saw this beer on tap that I nearly flipped my lid. A new brewery in Texas?!? Holy crap!!!  It’s based out of Austin and only has 4 beers available right now.  I got to try 2 of them today.  This one is the Bucket Head which is an India Pale Ale.

I had this on tap at Black Sheep Lodge, a nice little pub on the southside of Austin.

Pours a clear orange color with a small white head. Tried to work up a little more but it was being difficult.

Aroma is right off fresh hops. Lots of citrus and piney notes in this. Fresh and sappy.

Flavor is fresh hops with spicy citrus and pine. Tree sap leads to bitter notes and a very dry hoppy finish. Also has some sweet notes in it towards the end, especially as it warms a bit. Candied floral hops perhaps? Not bad for such a young brewery.  My friends and I certainly enjoyed this one.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

