h1

Day #69(!) – Magic Hat Circus Boy

March 11, 2011

Today rocks.  It’s day 69, which is awesome in itself; it’s the beginning of Spring Break and it feels awesome outside.  I currently have the windows open with the breeze coming in while watching Conan that I have DVRed.  Today rocks and I hope the beer does too.

Magic Hat Circus Boy

Circus boy is confusing to me already.  The bottle clearly says “Hefeweizen” on the front but the site that I pull most of my stats from classifies it as a spice/herb/vegetable beer.  Apparently the reasoning behind this is that a Hefeweizen should be free of adjuncts, while this beer was brewed with loads of lemongrass.  I don’t think I’ve ever encountered lemongrass.  5.4%, let’s see how this turns out.

This beer pours a very hazy golden orange color with lots of floating sediment.  There is a decent white head atop the beer that appears quite foamy.

The aroma is interesting.  Lots of peppery notes with dried grass, lemon zest and like a musty dry wheat.  There is a certain smell that I always pick up while driving down Fielder Road in Arlington right by the open field next to the Freemason retirement home.  I don’t know how else to explain it; you’re just going to have to drive down there and see for yourself.

Flavor is zesty, lemon, dried leaves and grass and some strange mustiness.   There is a large tingle on the palate which is interesting and unexpected.

Well it’s strange and different which I don’t know why I expected anything less from Magic Hat.   They seem to push the envelope on everything they do.  Sometimes it pays off; sometimes it’s Circus Boy.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

