h1

Day #52 – Redhook CopperHook Spring Ale

February 22, 2011

What better way to celebrate National Margarita day than with a beer review!  Day 52 comes as a trip to my favorite watering hole, the Ginger Man.  I am trying their featured beer today, (as well as keeping the glass) Redhook CopperHook.

Redhook CopperHook Spring Ale

Redhook Ale Brewery is based out of Seattle, Washington.  Their annual production is around 360,000 barrels and distribute widely in our area.  The CopperHook is their spring seasonal and is classified as an Amber Ale.

This beer pours a clear light orange color with a creamy looking whitish head. Fairly standard appearance for an Amber Ale although the creamy head might be attributed to the tap here.

The aroma is definitely hops and lightly toasted grains. I also pick up a small bit of caramel sweetness. There isn’t too much going on in the aroma but it’s enough to provide a nice preview of the flavor.

Flavor is immediately sweet with a candy-like flavor. Almost reminds me of the candy necklaces we would get as kids. After that follows a lightly tangy hop citrus flavor that morphs into a dry grain finish. There is a hint of metallic notes on the finish but it’s masked fairly well by the linger of hops and a sweet bitterness.

This is much better than I remember when I first tried it, granted that was years ago. This is also the first time I’ve had this beer on draught which might account for some of my change in appreciation for this.

Cheers!

Leave a comment