h1

Day #31 – Rogue Shakespeare Oatmeal Stout

February 1, 2011

1 month. 1 full, complete month of beer drinking, researching and blogging. Did I enjoy it? Hell yeah! Will I continue on through the next 11 months? Hell yes! I have really enjoyed this, and I hope you as the reader have enjoyed it also, and perhaps you learned something interesting or even got the itch to try one of the beers that I touched on. Maybe that’s just this beer-drinkers fantasy but I can dream right?

Rogue Shakespeare Oatmeal Stout

Today I had the pleasure of staying home from work due to inclement weather conditions and road hazards. I woke up today to a blanket of white outside and sub-zero wind chills. However it wasn’t pretty snow that I saw, it was solid ice. Very scary indeed, and I’m glad I got to stay in.

What better way to stay warm on a frosty day than a nice, thick stout! I have chosen to go with the Rogue Shakespeare Oatmeal Stout. Rogue Ales is based out of Newport, Oregon and has a very large distribution area. They are one of the largest breweries in the United States today.

This beer pours a very dark brown color to almost pitch black with a tall brown foamy head.  After holding it up to the light, I am convinced that no light is coming through.  Awesome.

The aroma here is very nice.  It has a big, dusty chocolate aroma, with some roasted malty notes and sweet spice.  Very nice aroma indeed.

The flavor is very roasty, with toasted notes and burnt nuts.  Heavily malted and bitter Baker’s cocoa.  There is a sharp flavor also that tingles on the palate.  Near the finish is when the oatmeal flavors come into play.  They balance out the toasted bitterness and ease on into oblivion.

This is very nice, and quite the pairing for a lonely day trapped inside with my cat and my movies.   Seek this one out for sure!

Cheers!

4 comments

  1. Nice job on making it to 31! Keep it going…just think…you only have 334 to go.

    I need to get some more Rogue brews on my 365. I have only had 1 so far.

    Again…nice job on the first 31 and the blog!


  2. I second that – great job on the blog!

    As for Rogue beers – they are awesome. I am having the Chatoe Rogue Dirtoir Black Lager today. Check my blog later for impressions.

    This Shakespeare Stout is in my beer a day book for April 26th so I have a long time to wait before I get to drink it 😦

    As for your snow day, that leads me to believe you live in Ontario. Wild guess…


    • Ontario? Haha, nope about the farthest thing from it….Fort Worth, TX!


  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Rogue Nation, Eugene City Brewery and Rogue Farms Hopyard, Issaquah BrewHouse. Issaquah BrewHouse said: Day #31 – Rogue Shakespeare Oatmeal Stout « A Year in Beer http://bit.ly/fkLk84 […]



Leave a Reply

