h1

Day #25 – Saint Arnold Winter Stout

January 26, 2011

Another Texas brewery today, and this is one of the larger breweries in our state.  The 2nd largest anyway, behind Spoetzl (Shiner) at 30,000 barrels produced last year.  They recently moved into a new location in downtown Houston which has around a 100,000 barrel max capacity.  Saint Arnold distributes all throughout the DFW area, and you will see lots of them from me in the future.  Today is their winter seasonal, which I have not tasted in several years.  Looking forward to this one!

Saint Arnold Winter Stout

This beer is classified as a stout.  Just a regular, plain ole’ stout, but that is a bit different from what most people think of when they hear the word.  Of course most people think of Guinness when they hear stout, but that is how the Irish define a stout.  American versions are usually higher in roast qualities or higher gravities (abv).  This is my first review of the style.

At first glance this beer appears dark brown with a very tall brown head, but when you hold it to the light it turns a gorgeous shade of ruby red.  Very lovely indeed.  It also seems to be very creamy by the amount of legs on the side of the glass.

The aroma here is roasted and creamy, with lots of dark malts and even a touch of English bittering hops.  It has a nice dusty, dark chocolate element to it as well.  Nice to smell.

The flavor is dark malt, roasted chocolate and cocoa beans with a nice, toasted bitter finish.  It has a creamy mouthfeel with a tiny bit of hop bite near the back and sides of the palate.  It finishes with a nice dark chocolate flavor.

Wow, what a different time makes!  The first time I had this beer I remember hating it, but tonight I am very happy with this.  I also made sure to warm this beer slightly before I opened it.  A general rule of thumb is that the darker a beer is, the warmer the temperature it needs to enjoyed at.  Around 50 – 55 degrees is the nice target area.  Just take the bottle out of the fridge and let it sit on the counter for 10 minutes or so and it’ll be fine.  This is a nice beer to enjoy and should be sought out.  Support your local brewery!

Cheers!

4 comments

  1. Great tip about allowing the beer to warm up a bit. I generally like to enjoy my beer cold but I’ll have to give it a shot.


  2. That is indeed a great tip about letting the beer warm up. I found with quite a lot of beers, if they are too cold, it masks some of the flavors and aromas.


  3. I agree! Most beers (especially Ales) are generally served too cold. If you take them out of the fridge they should warm up at room temperature for about 15 minutes.

    Another thing I noticed on this site. You almost always have the exact glassware for each beer! Do you have a whole storage room full of branded glassware? Impressive I must say.


    • Yes, I do have quite a nice collection of glassware. I have been collecting for several years now and plan to keep building on. That’s some of the fun of this blog, is getting a chance to show off my collection!!



Leave a Reply

