h1

Day #9 – Leibinger Zeppelin Bier

January 10, 2011

I must confess that the main reason I picked up this next beer was by the name and picture.  A lot goes into the design and layout of the label, as it often times plays an important role in the selection process.  While I will usually pick up anything I have never had before, given the choice I will always go for the coolest looking beer.  Several companies have made a name for themselves by coming up with clever names and interesting labels.  (If you’ve seen my homebrew batches, you can see the importance of a sense of humor with names.)

As I mentioned before, I picked up this bottle solely on appearances and because I have never tried it before.  It turns out this will be my first foreign reviewed beer as well as a fairly rare style to come by.  Let’s hope for the best!

Leibinger Zeppelin Bier

Check out that picture!  How cool is that?  Name the beer something cool and I’ll buy it…..at least once.  The Zeppelin is produced by Brauerei Max Leibinger out of Ravensburg, Germany. Ravensburg is located in the southernmost portion of Germany near the Swiss border.  I have never had a beer from this particular brewery before.

The style is a bit of an oddity as well.  There are several small and lesser-known styles that come from the Franconia portions of Germany.  These styles are called Zwickelbier, Kellerbier and Landbier.  They are fairly similar and therefore are typically grouped together.  All three are lagers with a slightly higher hop content than that of typical American lagers.  They should be served in a Lager Glass.  I have chosen a Heineken Light Lager Glass.

This beer pours a slightly hazy rusted amber with a foamy white head.  There is a fair bit of carbonation that is sizzling up from the bottom etchings of the glass.

The aroma is very bright.  Lots of metallic grains and pilsner malts.  Also touches on a bit of fruity sweetness, but in the over-ripened sense of the word.

Flavor is malty sweet, with lots of grainy bitterness filling it out and finishing with a touch of soured malt.  Quite bready as well.  There’s not a whole lot to this one.  The aftertaste isn’t too bad either, but rounds out to be a little bitter.

This beer has an ABV of 5.2% which makes it fairly sessionable.  While it wasn’t terrible by any means, I probably would not get it again, merely as I do not much care for the style and beers of the region.

One comment

  1. Wow, we had different experiences with this beer (I couldn’t get a head off it at all), but similar reactions. I didn’t care for it, either. It was just sort of “there,” if you know what I mean. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great, either. My full review is here: http://mitchellsbeer.blogspot.com/2012/03/20-zeppelin-does-not-quite-climb.html



Leave a Reply

